ID your blog voice with an online app

I stumbled on this in a writing forum (I’m pretty sure that’s where.) It works so well as an addendum to my previous topic that I had to share it right away!

Typealyzer is a unique online application that analyzes the personality profile of your blog.  It’s pretty neat, especially if you compare it to your regular “real life” personality. Could this help us in analyzing our “voice” perhaps? Maybe, or it might just be some fun entertainment. 🙂

My blog type was ISTP – The Mechanics. Here’s the description:

” The independent and problem-solving type. They are especially attuned to the demands of the moment are masters of responding to challenges that arise spontaneously. They generally prefer to think things out for themselves and often avoid inter-personal conflicts.

The Mechanics enjoy working together with other independent and highly skilled people and often like seek fun and action both in their work and personal life. They enjoy adventure and risk such as in driving race cars or working as policemen and firefighters.”
Doesn’t that describe my blog really well? Interestingly, it’s not my actual personality type, which is INFJ (at least it is today according to one online test, lol.)

So… What is your blog’s personality type? If you take the test, please leave the results in a comment below! 🙂

12 responses to “ID your blog voice with an online app

  1. I checked out the typealyzer and this is what it thinks…

    ESTP – The Doers
    The active and playful type. They are especially attuned to people and things around them and often full of energy, talking, joking and engaging in physical out-door activities.

    The Doers are happiest with action-filled work which craves their full attention and focus. They might be very impulsive and more keen on starting something new than following it through. They might have a problem with sitting still or remaining inactive for any period of time

    Its like a horoscope, its half right at least, I’m not very “outdoorsy”. Nice find Dube.

  2. LOL. I was an ESTP also. And it’s true – I do start lots of things and then lose my follow through on them (she says as she looks at the almost finished knit scarf at her feet). But I’m not very outdoorsy. I am working on that though. 😉

  3. ISTP – The Mechanics

    That defines both my blog and my personality. I get cheap thrills from exploring new places and taking unnecessary risks. But what really got me was the fast cars bit. If I’m not going 80+, it’s because there’s a cop and I forgot my driver’s license at home… otherwise I’m lead footed.

  4. I’d take the test, but afraid I’ll be classified as “IDSH” (Insanity doesn’t stop her). LOL. Curiosity will make me do it anyway – I’m a sucker for a quiz or other analysis, such as the Cosmo quiz. (Do they still do that?)

  5. Journihilist: Thanks! I agree, mine was half right too. But then again, your blog might not match your personality. So maybe it accurately reflects your blog if not your personality? Hmm…

    Teeni: Sounds like lots of people are working on being more outdoorsy, lol. 😛

    Kraze: LOL! It thought your blog was written in Thai? That’s hilarious!

    Kevin: Your blog is the same personality as mine! But unlike you, my real personality doesn’t match it. You must be a very authentic blogger (yes, I would definitely say that you are!)

    Kath: IDHS – lolol! Congrats on joining the ISTP club. 🙂

  6. I’m an ESTP and it’s pretty on point- I often start a venture and let it die off after I lose interest. I think that’s common among most writers, especially those who have thoughts on a wide range of subjects. That’s not an exclusive club, mind you, but I do feel that if I was wed to one subject as a writer I would be more prolific. Eh… I’m enjoying myself, so I have no regrets.

  7. Ooooh. Interesting and actually not that far off. I tend to test as an ENFP (the Inspirer- Extraverted iNtuitive Feeling Perceiving) which feels like a better fit, but the Typealyzer tagged the blog as an ESFP – The Performer (Extraverted Sensing Feeling Perceiving) which is only the difference of one letter.

    Absolutely amazing to me that the read only differed in one element.

    BTW, I just read your piece in Business Week. Good stuff, Stephanie. So glad I stumbled onto you!

  8. Interesting that it could read my entire blog and analyze my personality in 8 seconds. LOL I came up as ISTP as well, for both my blogs. It must of only ‘read’ some of my blogs – ha ha. Because I, too am an INFJ in most personality tests I have ever taken. That fits more with my real personality, especially the ‘N’ part. Look like we have some ‘personalities’ in common – writing AND real life.

  9. I know this has come late…and I just found your blog off Twitter, but I’m following the rules and letting you know I tried the Typelizer. I come off as ESFP (I think) – a “Performer,” which is pretty unusual. Every time I take one of these in real life, I come up as ENTJ – an analystical sort. Apparently I’ve got a little Jekyll & Hyde thing going on. Thanks for the Enlightenment! 🙂

Leave a Reply

