What an amazing two hours for the Lost finale! I’m just going to share a few quick thoughts here and I’ll write something more in-depth later (so stay tuned!) As usual, if you haven’t watched it yet, don’t read anymore.

SPOILER ALERT! :-)

**
**
**
**

Now we know why only the Oceanic Six were saved. Did anyone else want to cry when the freighter exploded and Sun was crying? The acting was amazing in that scene. I could just feel how painful that would be. I can’t imagine that happening to me!

It was interesting to see Sun’s situation contrasted with Desmond’s. Sun is separated from her true love and Desmond is reunited. It’s very illustrative of life itself. We all have different paths to follow, different times of joy and sorrow. Sometimes our paths converge and we struggle with the same things, and sometimes our paths are mirror opposites. It’s why you should never be jealous of someone else. There is no telling when life could change and you will be the “blessed” one while the other person will have the struggles.

Back to Lost… Sawyer has totally trumped Jack in the coolness department. Whining baby Jack was so insistent on NOT going back to the Island that Sawyer had to sacrifice himself. Nice Jack, real nice. And years later Jack abandons Aaron? Why?! I don’t care what was going on, there is no excuse to abandon a little kid. This proves the old adage: Never get involved with a doctor. They’ll only become really self-obsessed and crazy in the end! (Or maybe I just like blondes.)

And what did you think of Ben moving that “wheel” to move the Island? Did anyone else catch that he was moving the Island *forward* in time by 3 years? Immediately after that scene, Ben showed up in the desert three years in the future. So we know that moving the Island isn’t by location but by time.

And Locke is Jeremy Benthame? He probably changed his name to signify his new role and new life as leader of the Island. Who killed him and why? And why did Locke think it was so important for all six to come back that he visited them each individually?

I'm a doctor. Whine whine!

In the last scene, Ben actually looked really cool. It is the only time in the history of Lost that Ben was better looking than scruffy Jack. Could never happen with Sawyer though. ;-)

 

Note as of 10/15/2013: Please check out www.WiredForPR.com/blog/ – It’s my new blog (although I’ll still update this one from time to time).

OK, now here is my big question for my readers. It’s really important, so read closely…

Who is the “cooler” character? Jack, Sawyer, or Ben? Hmm…

About Dube

I am a professional freelance writer who specializes in magazine features, science stories, humor columns, novels, and scripts. I love receiving comments and thoughts on my posts, so write away! :) Visit my website, www.StephanieDube.com.

15 responses »

  1. thegirlfromtheghetto says:

    Shoot, Sawyer was cooler than Jack, but my god, Ben moved an ENTIRE ISLAND!!!! So he wins. I loved, loved, loved this episode!!!

  2. DAVE ID says:

    My favorite part: “Time Traveling Bunnies” Linus kills me.

  3. adam says:

    I am not afraid to admit that when Penny and Desmond met up, I shed a tear. That episode was almost PERFECT.

  4. Chuck says:

    Well, Sawyer is certainly the “coolest” in terms of Fonzy-cool. But from a bad-ass cool, Ben takes the cake. Character-wise..best one on the show. Awesome.

  5. Jennifer says:

    What a fantastic episode. Sawyer keeps cooler and more lovable with each episode. How did he get to be such a hero. And Jack just gets wimpier. Best acting and saddest moment was definitely Sun in the helicopter although I think it may turn out that Jin is alive. Loved seeing Desmond and Penny reunite. I was wondering if it was just me, but Ben did look better than he ever has in the funeral home scene at the end. Can’t wait for season 5.

    If you want to see more of my observations of the finale, including an added scene in the part 1 rerun see my post at http://connectwithyourteens.blogspot.com/2008/05/lost-season-4-finale.html

  6. Sawyer is the coolest…but I think even Ben could whip him in a fight.

    The transformation of Sawyer’s character has been amazing. It’s like the Island has made him a better guy!

  7. [...] must say again. Ben Linus is the man. So over on Dube’s blog she theorizes that Ben moved the island forward in TIME, not space about 3 years. I think I agree [...]

  8. [...] Dube’s World « Wow wow wow wow wow! [...]

  9. Dube says:

    Hmm… So it’s a tie between Sawyer and Ben, pretty much. Interesting! :)

  10. ‮EzArK says:

    I relate to ben alot more.

    Was it just me or when the helicopter was losing fuel and they cut to the shot of the fluid leaking…didnt any of you notice it was like 3 feet from the back cargo part of the helicopter.

    personally I think I would have just told somone to hold my legs, or grabbed on to a seat belt and held the leak in with my finger or ducktape as best as I could.

  11. Emzi says:

    Ohhh did Ben move it 3 years ahead? I thought when he was in Tunisia it was October 2005? Hmm, I may have to re-watch that episode, but I’m thinking 3 years is right as the two times (island and off island) seem to be matching up now.

  12. Scottie says:

    everyone is speaking Klingon again!

    ~~Later girl

  13. Cindy says:

    Ben…cool? ew!! ok, I must be missing something…. when I saw him at that last scene, I thought he looked totally GROSS!! all of the veins were poking out of his forehead, he was all creepy looking! Oh well, to each his own. I don’t think Jack is a wimp, he’s making all of the decisions that he thinks are the right ones. But as far as cool goes…come on, it’s sawyer…hands down. Those dimples take the cake…

    oh, and side note – I agree, this episode had 2 scenes w/ the most amazing acting on the show so far – Jin’s scene on the helicopter and the reuniting of Desmond and Penny. Aye… That was truly an amazing scene. GREAT insight Steph, about being the “blessed” one some of the time and not other times… And it usually happens so unexpectedly, in both directions, doesn’t it? Good word. ;)

  14. micaela says:

    es la mejor seria que vi en mi vidaaaa
    amo a todos los personajes e especial a SAWYEEERR!!

  15. Perry says:

    I delight in, lead to I discovered exactly what I used to be looking for. You have ended my 4 day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man. Have a nice day. Bye

Leave a Reply

