Everyone’s out to get Ben. Or at least – they should be! (Caution: Spoilers from Lost’s “The Other Woman” below!)

***

***

Tonight we learned that Bill, err Ben, tried to kill every living person on the island – again. So my question is… Why on earth is Ben still alive?!

Would you trust this face?

ben.jpg

Ben is like that sleazy politician that you want to believe in because he’s in your party and can quote Bible verses. He’s like the candidate who smiles and chats you up, while secretly texting his hitman to take you out later.

I’m entertained watching Ben and would like to learn more about his character (such as how he knows about everything going on the island, even though he’s locked up!) But someday, someone has to take Ben out. Who will it be? 

My money’s on Vincent. ;-)

vincent.jpg

(Edited to add: I just saw a great theory about who Juliet looks like and why Ben is so interested in her. You can find it in this blog post at Seat42f. Check out the portrait behind Ben in the picture…)

About Dube

I am a professional freelance writer who specializes in magazine features, science stories, humor columns, novels, and scripts. I love receiving comments and thoughts on my posts, so write away! :) Visit my website, www.StephanieDube.com.

5 responses »

  1. Barry says:

    I think Ben is the quintessential social outcast nerd who just couldn’t take any more abuse (from his dad), was recruited by a tough gang (the original Others) to take out the establishment (Dharma) and eventually became their leader. But his social ineptitude, seen most obviously in his treatment of Juliet (ham??), made him ruthless.

    In another time, Ben would’ve been right beside the Columbine guys.

    But apparently either he learned to control Jacob, or Jacob took a liking to him, and he was able to take over the Others.

    I don’t see him as calculating as a politician, since they’re mostly socially very adept. Ben’s the loner who lives in his parents’ basement, hacking into government sites because of how badly everyone treats him. Especially HER (whoever HER might be).

    Thanks for visiting my site, Steph!

  2. Steph says:

    Hey Barry! Ya, his treatment of Juliet was so creepy. “Oh, I forgot to tell you no one else was coming? Silly me!” … Interesting point about Ben not being as socially adept as a politician. Despite people hating him, he still maintains control over everyone. Crazy!

  3. kate1976 says:

    Hey!! I love the character of Ben – he is just super creepy but extremely watchable. I had to chuckle when I saw him walking jauntily through the Other camp with is bedding while Hurley and Sawyer looked on in disbelief. Hee! I have to have a proper think about theories so I am sure to be back!

  4. kate1976 says:

    ps I am writing about TV at my other blog http://squareeyes.wordpress.com which you visited the other day if you want to add me to your Lost blogroll!!! :)

Leave a Reply

